Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from an old newbie

Hello from an old newbie

Hello all,
    I just thought I'd introduce myself, My name's Nige and although I'm 53, after reading a lot of posts on this forum, concider myself a total newbie
    I can't get over how things have changed in the airgun world, when I was young, I was bought up on Gats and Diana .177 pistols and rifles, progressing through the next few years onto Relum Tornados with under-lever and Webley's, BSA Meteors etc. The finest gun I ever owned was a BSA Airsporter .22 with a rubber pad on the stock. I've only had a rifle in my hands once in the last 20 years or so and that was 7 years ago when on holiday in the Isle of Wight where they had a Sunday morning competition for guests. (And I won!! )
    So why have I joined this forum? Well I suppose it's because the bug never really left me and now, living in Spain and having more time on my hands, I'd like to take the hobby up again so thought I'd better gen myself up a little as to what's available and for how much, and where better than on here? Unless I buy a gun through mail order, which I might well do, the choice here is terrible, there is one place within 100k that I know of that sells rifles, I've seen them on a rack at the back of the office, I intend to investigate later this week to see exactly what they are.
    Now I've read a fair bit on here, I'm totally confused as to what to buy....All I wanted to do was a bit of plinking, a bit of rabbiting etc. Any suggestions would be very welcome.
    Nige

rompa stomp Guest
    hi mate and welcome to the fourm i think a tx200hc would suit you as its a brilliant rifle will knock the socks off a rabbit and is very accrate only thing is that it is a bit heavy at 8.5lbs without scope silencer

Welcome aboard NIGE.
    Founder & ex secretary of Rivington Riflemen.
    www.rivington-riflemen.uk

Hello and welcome to the forum matey. Geoff.