Thread: Moderator shaving pellets

Moderator shaving pellets

Just got a new rifle, & accuracy was poor, took off the mod & its doing 5p size groups, any suggestions, i have little or no knowledge of mods.

Rob

What rifle is it? Some moderators are calibre specific, trying to shoot a .22 through a .177 won't work Rog

Thanks for the reply, its an 80k in 25, with a 25 mod

If the thread on either muzzle or moderator is out of true then the bore is not going to be true, & the pellets will clip.

Are they both NEW, new ? or new to you 2nd hand If brand spanking new or bought used as a pair from a shop then I'd contact the shop for them to sort at their expense, trying a different mod on that rifle or that mod on a different rifle should tell you which is at fault.

If you can't do that then a washer or shim between the faces will change the angle & that sometimes cures the clipping but not always.

If the mod was bought used it's possible someone has fitted smaller washers to try & improve it, or the internals might be badly fitted.

Thanks, rifle is used, but has been fitted with a new barrel & mod, i will take it up with the gunsmith who did the work, there won't be any issues he's good bloke, but just thought there might be a quick fix i could.

Regards,

Rob

Near Wimbledon, SW London, or Lusaka, Zambia
    easy on a break barrel to see - just remove the barrel and look through the barrel, from breach to muzzle. you will see if the bore through the mod is off centre - but easiest in good light. Easiest way to fit after correcing and simple misalignment flaws in to spin up the barrel with mode fitted in a lathe, and just bore a fraction out through the mod.. assuming of course the bore is co-encentric. Or just open out the mod - springers don;t need such tight clearances as PCPs - opening it out to 8 or 9mm through the mod will be just fine.
    Always looking for any cheap, interesting, knackered "project" guns. Thanks, JB.