Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Webley Mk 3 questions.

Webley Mk 3 questions.

I have, in my trawling/haunting of the North West gun shops come across a .177 Webley Mk 3 (ser no: 42**) which has the double sear trigger, grooved stock and rounded grooved loading tap. Its in pretty good condition with 90% blueing, a few dinks in the stock but the 'medallion' is as good as new. I guess its was produced mid 1950's?
    Now Im no expert in Webley rifles so I read The Bible (Dennis Hillers book) which states, in capital letters 'DO NOT USE THIS RIFLE' due to the weakness of the sears.
    Now while few of my rifles are overworked I occasionally like them to be used if not by myself by fellow club members.
    My question is are these sears that fragile the gun cant be used?

Thank you for any info or advice on this gun.
    Founder & ex secretary of Rivington Riflemen.
    www.rivington-riflemen.uk

Love mine. Same age range as yours , bought new by my dad, has been used thoroughly and built like an ox. Never missed a beat, despite numerous strip and relubes it still has the original leather washer and delivering a very consistent 10.2/10.3 ft lbs in .22.

One of the best open sight plinkers I have, along with several vintage BSAs. Buy and enjoy...
    ...you will still be grinning in years to come.

Aye, but does yours have the DST? Which I assume is the fragile area what Mr Jones refers to.

I assume that, because I don't have Dennis Hiller's rifle book (though I do have his book on hair pistols - that he kindly signed for me).

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by Rickenbacker View Post
    Aye, but does yours have the DST? Which I assume is the fragile area what Mr Jones refers to.

I assume that, because I don't have Dennis Hiller's rifle book (though I do have his book on hair pistols - that he kindly signed for me).

Hmmmm!! Hair pistols Rick??