Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What constitutes a world class course ?

What constitutes a world class course ?

I see in quite a few quotes a world class course set out etc etc.
    Does this mean a course for people from all over the world ?
    Does it mean it was set by a world champion ?
    Does it mean the world championship was held there making it world class.
    If not any of the above how do people think or justify their quotes. :roll eyes:
    I have been setting courses for HFT and Ft for over 20 years no one has cleared a course I have set in either. I would not put a world class course as I am neither a world champ or held a world championship at the clubs I have attended over the years.
    I have shot all over the country and shot on some cracking courses some better than others due to the variation in topography. Some have been boring due to all the same flat ground similar distances etc.
    So over to you what do you think makes a world class course.

I would say one were the course setter has made you think twice about every shot and they have laid it out in such a way that you can't use your experience from the peg before to range the current one.

Not a hard course because they just get frustrating and boring after 5 or 10 shots, but certainly a mentally challenging one...

Never go off half cocked....

All lies matter

Quote Originally Posted by Baxterbasics View Post
    Lots of people fall short of that one then. i.e. Bolt fastest Man on earth or is he ( maybe an undiscovered world class runner out there that does not know it yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob Anybody View Post
    I would say one were the course setter has made you think twice about every shot and they have laid it out in such a way that you can't use your experience from the peg before to range the current one.

Not a hard course because they just get frustrating and boring after 5 or 10 shots, but certainly a mentally challenging one...