Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which beginner pistol for 20 yards

Which beginner pistol for 20 yards

Hi all, I've been shooting 20 yard pistol at my local club for about 6 months now and am getting the itch to buy my own gun. The club guns are Walther LP201's, which are fantastic but would like the benefit of my own gun to setup for myself.

I previously thought buying a decent gun was going to be too expensive but looking at the likes of the Baikal IZH-46M my mind has changed. However any description I've seen states it's a great 10 metre gun do they drop off at longer ranges? I'm struggling to find information.

Thanks for any help.

Jamie.

Every 10m pistol will drop at 20 yrds.
    Only pistol I use at that distance or further is my silhouet airpistol (Tau 7 silhouet).
    With its longer barrel it can have higher speeds (and accuracy because longer sightline)
    No experience with the Baikal. Allthough general consensus seems to be theyre very fine matchguns.
    ATB,
    yana

The 6 ftlb rule will limit your velocity to around the 550 fps mark so, yes, even if adjusted to the limit you will still get significant drop at longer ranges. If using any form of optical sight, then length of sight base is not a problem but a shorter barrel will make it harder to achieve the higher velocity.

Jamie,

My Tau 7 Match & Baikal MP46-M, both give ca. 475 fps with JSB Match (Green, 7.33 gr.) pellets.

The Tau 7 can be adjusted upwards in velocity at the cost of shot count (I get ca. 65 shots per CO2 caplet @ 475 fps), and possibly accuracy.

Most of the modern ten (10) meter PCPs, shoot around 500 - 525 fps with the same weight of pellet.

So, all these pistols will shoot similarly at twenty (20) yards.

Unfortunately, the price of the Baikal MP46-M now has risen to p!ss taking levels

(A couple of years ago, I got mine brand new from the Sportsman Gun Centre for £269)

Have fun & a good weekend

Best regards

Russ