Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First post

First post

Hi, the title says it all really. This is just a quick hello, and thank you for letting me join your forum. I am going to need it as it is years since I handled an Air Rifle, thus the reason for joining this forum.
    What started all this off is that I have recently come in possession of a Webley Hawk. From a quick look here and other forums I think it must be a Mk1 as all it says on it is Webley Hawk. I cannot find any stock number or any other identification on the rifle apart from a .177 on the barrel. So rather than than leave this rifle in its present semi neglected state, I have decided that it needs looking at and it is made safe to use, and it deserves a good home.
    Hoping to learn much from this forum and hope that I don't pester too many people as I am only starting out and even with my limited reading, i can feel that I have a lot to learn and a long way to go.
    Cheers, Splintercat

Bet you by this time next year you have more than one!

A very helpful forum with plenty of knowledgeable members.

Welcome
    Neil

welcome bud

Hi Splintercat, I trust the splinter was removed and the cat is in good health.

Quote Originally Posted by Saxmaniac View Post
    Splintercat
    There has to be a good story there.

There has to be a good story there.
    Saxmaniac….mine's quite obvious and boring, I play the saxophone... badly

Welcome!

The Hawk came in three variants (originally advertised as “For the men in the family” - well, it was 1971).

Mk 1 (1971-74) has a “swoopy” (is that a word?) very stylised stock, and a barrel removable by a very large slotted screw on the breech block, with according markings - BARREL LOCK and ON/OFF. 17.5” barrel.

Mk2 (1974-77) usually has a 17.125” barrel. Small screw to finally lock a screw-in barrel. Starts with swoopy stock, then it gets less, er, swoopy, especially the fore end.