Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Barrel threading, how to do it?

Barrel threading, how to do it?

Hello,

One for all the engineers out there. Purely out of interest, how do you mount an hw break barrel in a lathe with the breech block still attached?

Can you poke the barrel right through the head stock, so that the breech clears the head? Failing that, how do they do it? I had a very short 99 barrel recrowned and shortened on a lathe but never understood how they did it. It would have been too short to put right through the head. Lots of people said it wasn't possible but clearely this person managed it. They did briefly explain how but I didn't understand over the phone and was in a rush at the time.

I have no lathe experience but I'm fascinated by how they do it?

If you've got a big enough lathe with a large clear bore through the headstock then the block won't touch the sides.

The other way is to set the breech end in a 4 jaw chuck and get it centred but that will probably have to be on the OD which isn't ideal, then place the muzzle end in a steady, making fine adjustments to centralise it with the bore. A tacky fix but if you have no better way . . . .
    www.shebbearshooters.co.uk. Ask for Rich and try the coffee

I have done this on my 100 year old Relmac treadle lathe in a similar way to that described by Rich above...only I don't have a steady rest so just took the tailstock apart and used that as a makeshift fixed steady - did this by turning a brass bush to sit inside the tailstock and carry the muzzle end of the barrel...I know it is not ideal but it did the job ok.

BTW, I'm not an engineer!
    blah blah

as above , plus make a long parallel mandrel insert it in the bore and clock round it at the end of the barrel and the end of the manderel, to make sure the bore is concentric and parallel.

Quote Originally Posted by DCL_dave View Post