Thread: Back in the club!

Back in the club!

I have been shooting Air Guns on and off for the last 60 years Lol.
    I started out with a Gat Pistol then on to Bsa Meteor and Webley mk 3, then a gap of 10 years when I bought a HW 80 and FWB 127 sport which was followed by Spanish Setra pump up.
    Then another gap till I got in to the PCPs with a S400 and Lovely regged BSA 10 in .22.
    Then another pause till I retired and went over the top with pretty much every rifle on offer, ranging from HW 100, Daystate mk 3 ft , Daystate Panther , Evo 3 and a Steyr 110.
    Them my daughter got the Karting bug and I sold the lot to help finance her racing.
    But I did keep one rifle back , A lovely 97kt thumbhole in ,22 to keep my hand in !
    Sadly just lately a old shoulder injury as really been playing up making the cocking of the 97 to much, So decided to get a cheap PCP for a bit of fun with out spending a fortune.
    I wanted a proper traditional multi shot rifle in 177 and looking in Gunstar I found a really nice BSA Gold star with a Pepper stock complete with Scope and silencer for a very reasonable price.
    It was immaculate condition and i had kept loads of different pellets so testing began.
    I have never cleaned a barrel on a airgun ever but looking down the barrel on the Goldy it did look a bit dull, Luckily years ago I managed to get some Crosman Premier in Boxes of 1200 from Ramsbottoms.
    These used to be highly sort after at one-time.a the go to pellet of choice .

Being made of a really hard lead content they have brought the barrel up to a lovely shine and it is now spot on in accuracy.
    I have put loads of different pellets thru it from Bisley mags down to JSBs express RS at 7.33.
    One thing I have noticed is whether BSA have a different twist on the rifling is that it shoots with a incredible flat tragectory and hardly effected by the wind which no other air rifle as been able to .