Thread: Webley Senior

Webley Senior

DO NOT REMOVE or NOT TO BE REMOVED.... that is the question.

Today I purchased a Webley Senior at Kempton Park. Fantastic show and great stuff there.

I am a complete newbie to Webleys, and was wondering why my new piece has NOT TO BE REMOVED on the rear of the pistol, whereas, many I have been looking at on line have the words: DO NOT REMOVE. Can anyone enlighten me?

Best regards to all.

Quote Originally Posted by Arminius View Post
    DO NOT REMOVE or NOT TO BE REMOVED.... that is the question.

Today I purchased a Webley Senior at Kempton Park. Fantastic show and great stuff there.

I am a complete newbie to Webleys, and was wondering why my new piece has NOT TO BE REMOVED on the rear of the pistol, whereas, many I have been looking at on line have the words: DO NOT REMOVE. Can anyone enlighten me?

Best regards to all.
    NOT TO BE REMOVED = pre-war.

DO NOT REMOVE = post-war.

Variants with no markings are known, including early post-war production.

Other pre-war identifiers are (a) no knurling on the barrel, (b) thin trigger (compared to post-war), (c) post-war grips have “Webley” moulded into the top, pre-war don’t.

Quote Originally Posted by Geezer View Post
    NOT TO BE REMOVED = pre-war.

DO NOT REMOVE = post-war.

Variants with no markings are known, including early post-war production.

Other pre-war identifiers are (a) no knurling on the barrel, (b) thin trigger (compared to post-war), (c) post-war grips have “Webley” moulded into the top, pre-war don’t.
    Interesting, thank you.

This pistol has 'Not to be removed', on the rear, but it does have the knurling on the barrel, which I understood was a post war feature. It also has "Webley" folded into the grips. Perhaps it is immediately post war, so there were variants and cross overs?