Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lapping loading taps

Lapping loading taps

I'm looking for some advice on lapping a conical loading tap, as it's something I'm not very good at. The gun is an early Webley Osprey. I have made some attempts, but at the end the tap is very prone to binding (suggesting high spots, I would guess).

Do you guys lap the new tap from the very start, or do you size it down a bit first, such as on a drill/lathe with emery or wet and dry?

What do you use for lapping paste? I've tried valve paste, but found it very harsh, then rottenstone in oil, which seemed much better.

Do you do it all by hand, or by mechanized means?

What kind of finish do you aim for on the final surface?

All tips and advice appreciated!

I would be very interested in the advice as well.
    I must assume that the oversize tap is oversize to an extent that it does not sit such that the pellet bore is not in line with the barrel; in fact the tap sits too far out from its housing. The skill is such to get the tap seated such that everything lines up while maintaining a good air seal.
    Personally I only ever 'lapped' car valves ....
    So ... let's hear it from the engineers here.
    Cheers, Phil

If you lap the tap by any great amount, you will possibly start off-setting the pellet bore from the barrel bore.
    Thanks - Geoff.

Perhaps I should have been clearer - I'm talking about lapping in a new, oversize tap to fit. Aligning the pellet seat in the tap with the bore is part off the lapping process.

Quote Originally Posted by bill57 View Post
    Perhaps I should have been clearer - I'm talking about lapping in a new, oversize tap to fit. Aligning the pellet seat in the tap with the bore is part off the lapping process.
    Agreed ... how is this done? I had always assumed the use of valve grinding paste and a slow approach by hand ... but this would, of course, remove material from both tap and action. Does that matter? Maybe not.

Cheers, Phil