Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A day at the range: Some questions

tinbum is offline Killer Vampire Lesbians on scooters

A day at the range: Some questions

I am a newbie but have been reloading 9mm for a little while now, once I found a mix that worked I stuck with it.

A month ago we moved, so now I have a new range and new shops to deal with. I'll take the shop first; I usually use Geco 124grn FMJ round nose and they are just dandy! The shop only had 124grn FMJ HP, but I figured it wouldn't make much difference? Same powder, seating just a little further down and away we go...

Well, the recoil is noticeably harsher, bordering on unpleasant. AND it shook my red dot loose! I switched back to the round nose and it went back to usual. Can bullet shape have so much effect? I tried both rested on paper and they are both grouping nicely, but I didn't have a chrono with me. Maybe next time?

Next the range. I am used to a 25m stand for pistols only, one end for gongs, the other for paper, each stand separated by a screen.
    The new range has it's own gongs at different ranges and a running boar at 50m. You can also put targets out wherever you want. You can use any calibre rifle, pistol or shotgun at any target and there are no separations between stands.
    The downside of this is my ejected shells scattered far and wide, not that it matters much to me, I tend to shoot midweek when I'm the only one there. However, out of the hundred rounds I fired I only recovered 93, on the plus side I emptied the casings bin and got nearly 100 9mm shells and a decent number of .223 plus various others I don't recognize.

So, back to the 9mm. Any advice?

Turnup is offline Dialling code‎: ‎01344
    The bullet shape can affect the seating depth and the crimp. IME a strong crimp can put pressures up and this can increas felt recoil. A deeper seating will increase pressures too. Can you chrono?