Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recoiless vs recoiling FWB experiment

Recoiless vs recoiling FWB experiment

Hi all,
    I wanted to compare the accuracy of a recoiless FWB 150 vs a Recoiling FWB 110 (basically the same rifle, one with and one without the sledge system) and do a little video on it.

Just tried 10 shots rested with each at 20yds and accuracy is the same.

Going to do 5 shots standing at 10m with each (I’m not a proper 10m shooter though)

Any suggestions on other ways to compare accuracy?

Ideally I’d get a pcp only shooter to try as I suspect they’d find the 150 more accurate.

150 has a Tyrolean stock so I’ll put this on the 110 too for a fair comparison on the standing shots.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
    Matt

It would be interesting if someone tried that with an FWB65, which comes with a facility to lock the sled, intended as a rimfire training feature.

I think the fact the two rifles were comparably accurate says more about your shooting rather than the guns themselves, in that you are conditioned to ignoring recoil. It could be interesting if you showed the different firing characteristics in slow motion, perhaps?
    Vintage Airguns Gallery
    ..Above link posted with permission from Gareth W-B
    In British slang an anorak is a person who has a very strong interest in niche subjects.

Wondering if anyone has an archive of contemporary match scores from the 60s, which might demonstrate any edge the 150 had over the 110, or early recoilless rifles in general over the recoiling kind?

Quote Originally Posted by Garvin View Post
    I think the fact the two rifles were comparably accurate says more about your shooting rather than the guns themselves, in that you are conditioned to ignoring recoil.
    You might be right… maybe I’ll do a string of shots using good springer technique, and another string of shots gripping the rifles more tightly.
    It may be that the recoiless FWB’s gave new shooters more accurate results.

Cheers,
    Matt