Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Britannia

Britannia

A comment/question at the end of one of Matts videos (I think) got me thinking. Yeah, what if BSA HAD got their hands on a Britannia instead of a Lincoln Jeffries?

Thé basic layout of compression chamber in line and behind barrel must be the most efficient as thé air flow is unimpeded (sorry, webley fans). I think it’s fair to say the BSA established what an air rifle “should” look like (sorry, Webley fans). If Cox/Bonehill had got into mass production first would we have seen 100 years of tidy little break barrel air rifles with the chamber in the butt?

For my money a Britannia is a little tail heavy, and perhaps for that reason a BSA layout is a little easier to shoot accurately, but from an engineering point of view (I am not an engineer) I can’t see any inherent weakness in the layout over the bsa? Cox seemed to have solved the problem of wear and lock up of the barrel right out of the traps.
    Morally flawed

Unframed Dave is offline World pork pie juggling champion three years straight
    I've not spent any great time shooting one, but what about the direction of the recoil?

Dave
    Smell my cheese

Good question

I was quoting John M’s question in my video,
    As I also mentioned a BSA prototype from the1920’s based on the Britannia did surface, and had a note attached saying ‘has no advantage over the Cox Britannia’ (NZ Airgun 1987) so it sounds like they tried but couldn’t improve it, which I find intriguing. It ended up in Ian Alcock’s possession but I couldn’t track it down.