Thread: 177 vs 22 a pre metric question

177 vs 22 a pre metric question

I started shooting pre metric 177 & 22 in 1965 or '67. An age of open sights, tin cans a popular target. As we all know .22 was 5.6mm now down graded to 5.5mm. Was .177 a different size to today's 4.5mm ?
    Rabbit Stew, no artificial additives except lead.
    IF THE MUD REACHES YOUR KNEES GET OUT OF THE FIELD QUICK.
    WANTED. UNF MOD.

Quote Originally Posted by Bellycrawler View Post
    I started shooting pre metric 177 & 22 in 1965 or '67. An age of open sights, tin cans a popular target. As we all know .22 was 5.6mm now down graded to 5.5mm. Was .177 a different size to today's 4.5mm ?
    Short answer yes

.177 was oversized to what it is now, amongst my older rifles I have a mk1 mercury in .177 even 4.53 pellets fall a few mm into the barrel when compared to old original ely wasps I also have, the good news is I think you can get wasps in the old size again now

Sorry i cant comment on other vintage rifles as the mercury is the only one i have in the tiddler size but i suspect a lot more older guns will be the same

ps you can get 5.6 pellets again, marksman if memory serves me well, but i find the new spitfires fit and work well in a few of my older rifles (guess they must be a bit oversized too

edbear2 Guest
    .177 is 4.495.8mm is all you need to know I suppose if you look on a conversion chart and .22 is 5.588mm..

Always has been , always will.......

ATB, Ed
    Last edited by edbear2; 04-09-2022 at 08:32 AM.