Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NS156 or Paladin 390

amanitavirosa Guest

NS156 or Paladin 390

I am new to night vision but appreciate any help to decide on a night vision rifle scope up to £400. I tried the Soviet bazaar reconditioned 4.5 x 52, but there were several problems and it died on me after 15 minutes use. I use a Weirauch HW100S and wonder if the weaver mounts need an adaptor for my air rifle dovetail. I wish to shoot rabbits out to about 45 yds and closer range rats. All help apreciated.

Trevor

Weirauch 100S .177
    Phenix 400 .22
    JSR 3 x 9 x 50

Hi Trevor,
    Welcome to the bbs mate

I have used both the NS156 and and currently the Paladin 390 and for me the paladin is better suited to the ranges that you have specified, it is much heavier than the 156 and I can recommend the venom air cylinder for the HW100 which will shave approx 1lb in weight and help to bring the balance of the rifle closer to the shoulder.

The 156 has a circular ret which many people don't like and benefits from the use of a additional illuminator if your wanting to pick off bunnies at 45 yards.

The Paladin has a standard cross hair ret and a far more powerful illuminator. it will focus down to approx 7 yards so it is ideal for close range ratting

The Paladin is far more expensive than a 156 though!

You will need a weaver to dovetail adaptor rail or Uttings sell a couple of small blocks that do the job perfectly well.

Alan.

Gary C Guest
    Neither will allow you to shoot rabbits to 45 yards humanely.

Come to about 30 yards and you might have a chance

Arrow

I like your user name Trevor-a beautiful if poisonous fungus-the 'destroying angel.'
    Hope that doesn't apply to you!!! Presumably at 6'10" tall you are in demand at Xmas plays as the Archangel Gabriel!!!
    'It may be that your sole purpose in life is to serve as a warning to others'.

I too have used the NS 156 and Paladin 390. Both provide very good images for Gen I.