Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marksman air rifle pellets.

Marksman air rifle pellets.

When I started shooting air rifles back in the early 1970s the pellets we all used then was marksmen in .22 cal, and never had a problem with them but then our local sports shop did not have much to chose from, I have a full tin of 500 marksmen pellets in .22 that has a push on lid not the screw on type it has the price on the back six shillings ( that's 30p in new money ) I have just ordered a new box of these to compare with the old ones I will be using them in an old airsporter, does anyone else still use them?

I've got half a box from the 70's, & ordered a couple of new ones for old times sake. They'll do for plinking but they're pretty rough, & the box is slightly different to the original. They all appear to have the same degree of oxidation too.

Back in the '70's I'd have Marksmen, Milbro Caledonian & maybe some Wasps, all mixed up in the same pocket with a bit of fluff & some small change - it's amazing I hit anything really.

Marksman pellets

I have an original box, about two thirds full of the .177s, I have had them out and given a "wash and wipe" wit light oil and then back in the box, they are great but I only keep them because of their age. I havn't shot any.
    The armourer, with no where near as many guns as I used to have.

I use them for plinking, they're not much good for longer range shots but for short or medium range plinking with old British pistols they're alright. They're cheap, British made, by a firm owned by descendants of one of airgunning's pioneers, Lincoln Jeffries. Heritage in an old-fashioned cardboard box! Often they don't shoot well in continental or metric barrels but for some reason Marksman Points shoot very well in my little old Record Jumbo.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob M View Post