Thread: 16mm acrylic foresight elements

16mm acrylic foresight elements

Anyone know where I can get these? I can only find 18mm and 22mm.
    I know they exist, as I have 1, but I need more sizes and have 2 rifles I want to use them in.
    Old German target rifles and even older BSA's

harvey_s is offline Lost love child of David Niven and Victoria Beckham

Graemevw,

+1 on harvey_s' elements

Have fun

Best regards

Russ

Rather than start another post, I have another question I might as well tack on here.

I'm shooting bell target and 6 yard nsra rifle paper targets.
    I have one foresight element and it's 3.1mm.

I need a bigger one really for the paper targets but I'm inexperienced so am going to have to just take a stab at guessing what sizes would be good.
    Can anyone give me a ballpark idea?

With the bell target I thought I needed to go smaller as I'm not very good at judging when it's central.
    Everyone I've asked though says not to go smaller and 3.1mm is pretty small already.
    It just occurred to me that I might be making assumptions in the wrong direction.
    Would going bigger help?

The rear iris is quite small too, about 1mm, but cemtering the front right in the iris isn't the problem I don't think.

I'm new to diopter sights and I don't seem to be very good with them yet.

I had thought about trying 2.8mm for bell target and maybe 4.5mm for the nsra paper targets but now I'm wondering if I should go up, maybe to 3.5mm for bell and then maybe go even bigger than 4.5mm for paper.

I'm completely guessing though.
    I'll order a few, but I need to be in the right sort of range otherwise I'll have to order 25 of them!

Thanks.

Foresight Size

A few basics, too large a foresight is worse than the best size, but too small a one is a serious disadvantage. The aiming mark must be contained within the foresight ring, if it wobbles out of it when you’re aiming, you need a larger foresight.

You say: