Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on this Airsporter please.

Opinions on this Airsporter please.

This is for sale at my most local and regular gun shop.

https://www.pickeringguns.co.uk/shop...ter-s-mk-2-22/

I've become somewhat disenchanted with modern day springer offerings and would like to dip my toe in something a bit more old school and relevant to my younger days. From a novice point of view I believe that it should have open sights and the barrel weight is a user addition? Price? As I say, I am a novice in this area.

Thank You.

Just my opinion, but for that kind of money you could get a nice mk1 or mk2 with change left over, which I think are the better guns.
    Last edited by thisisdonald; 16-06-2022 at 07:27 AM.
    Donald

edbear2 Guest
    Avoid I would say at that money, does not even have sights!.......

I have been in that shop a couple of times despite it being over 200 miles from me.........as go to Robin Hood's bay every year for Bayfiolk so usually do a day on the NYR, when I went he had quite a few vintage rifles and pistols, but the couple that were decent were not for sale as the boss is a collector?

As stated the earlier (MK's 1-3) Airsporters are a better tool with a better loading tap set up (all being equal) as the earlier taps are tapered and hand fitted and the later ones were simplified to save time and money and can have issues, But the S models do look nice and some folk prefer the more "modern" look and feel especially of the woodwork.

It is a lottery with the later guns, some shoot very well, but if you get an bad one it can be a nightmare of faffing if someone has been playing with the shims etc.

Whatever you chose, make sure the original sights are there, but bear in mind the earlier guns either cannot be scoped, or need a certain size mount claw in a lot of cases, so if you want to use glass your choice is further limited.

Later guns no problem, all have scope rails.