Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Just tried something I've never done before on a springer.... and it worked !

Near Wimbledon, SW London, or Lusaka, Zambia

Just tried something I've never done before on a springer.... and it worked !

brace yourselves folks, this is a bit radical....

.. I just fitted an Ox spring to a gun. Deliberately. I knew exactly what it was, but I still put it in there... and it's shooting quite nicely

Full context.. building up an HW35, and the 3.2mm wire gauge longish spring was giving a pretty unpleasant cycle; 10 FP, but it felt slow, and slammy at the same time. Just not nice. I was pretty sure this was due to the fairly heavy piston (270g) and the large 30mm bore, making for excessively slow initial acceleration, which combined with the famously long port, made for similarly slow initial pressure build up.

So I needed a stiffer spring. Just didn't have anything in the selection (around 30 ) any stiffer than 3.2mm, except one monster I'm saving for my FAC 48... but there were a couple of Oxs. This one was about 3/4" shorter, and obviously stiffer, so in it went.

Result pretty much as expected; much faster firing cycle, less slammy, and power went up a fair bit too. Cocking effort wasn't obviously different, but in reality would have been more at the end of the stroke - where you have most leverage, hence I didn't notice it. Not fine tuned anything yet - need to get a stock and try it out for accuracy first - but hey, it seems everything has it's uses
    Last edited by Shed tuner; 02-12-2022 at 06:00 PM.
    Always looking for any cheap, interesting, knackered "project" guns. Thanks, JB.

Everyone will now be looking through the bits box, for they old ox springs or taking them off the gates. Atb mick

Has any one else had a satisfactory experience with an Ox ? They couldn't have been that bad unless they are only suited to some situations.