Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is a ProSport a copy of a Venom Mach 2?

Is a ProSport a copy of a Venom Mach 2?

This topic has been covered here a few times, but with no back up, only opinions of various people, some calling themselves experts. I am no expert, but I had access to a few pictures, and I can use a calendar to reference some dates.

This was previously covered in the following threads:

http://www.airgunbbs.com/showthread....a-Venom-Mach-2
    https://www.airgunbbs.com/showthread...-Trigger-Units

Well, the ProSport has been called the nicest looking production spring airgun of all time, it was designed by Ken Turner, however many like to claim that it was a copy of the Venom Mach 2 design…

I thought I post here, as I have posted on another forum with some pictures and dates to back this up, also what prompted me was a post by Professor Mike Wright (RIP), who used to write springer articles with Jim Tyler BTDT on here, and lets say he knew a thing or 2 about spring guns and their history:

'History does get distorted over time, but rarely totally inverted', Arthur Miller
    'All the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order' , Eric Morecambe

Back to the topic, Ken Turner made his own concealed underlever in 1982, named it the KT82 as shown below (the number, after KT indicates year of production):

Some of its features, including delrin pegs (Lazaglide, yes, Lazaglide!) are described in this article below (so who invented the Lazaglide and when? &#128521: